A new bakery in town

After my morning work session at my local coffee shop the other day, I decided to check out the newest bakery in town, the Pink Box Bakery. I saw their storefront preparing to open, decorated with bright pink signs with English and Chinese characters, and when I was walking to the library earlier in the week, I saw that almost all of the Asian restaurants had colorful signs advertising for the grand opening of the bakery. Needless to say, I was intrigued.  I was also curious as to what was going to set this bakery apart. There were already a number of bakeries in Squirrel Hill, and a fantastic one right next door; what would make this one different?

Okay, that was incredibly naive of me. Next time, perhaps I should do my research. 🙂

The inside of the bakery was bright, fresh, and very neatly arranged.  Right inside the door, there were baskets and tongs, and the space in the shop was filled with a table and long shelf unit lined with wicker baskets, each full of individually-wrapped buns and pastries, clearly labeled in English and Chinese. There were all different kinds of buns and pastries: savory ones filled with red bean paste or meat, ones topped with cheese or onions, sweet buns filled with cream or topped with strawberry or blueberry. There was also a case with beautifully decorated cakes.  As I was there on a whim and on a budget, I picked up two of the buns. Most of the buns were between $2 and $3, but for a treat, and for the generous size of the buns, it seemed reasonable.

For lunch, I picked up a BBQ pork bun, not really knowing what to expect but intrigued by all the different offerings.  I did a little hunting around online to see how to eat it: hot? cold? reheated?  Most of the recipes I saw featured steamed buns, but this bun looked too GBD (golden brown and delicious) to have been steamed, in my humble estimation. I did find one recipe that baked the buns, and it recommended reheating the buns in a 350 degree oven for 8-10 minutes, so I wrapped my bun in foil and stuck it in the toaster over for 10, a choice which seemed to produce a pretty good product! The bun itself was light and soft and fluffy, and you could taste a bit of sweetness on the golden exterior.  (I’m betting there was an egg wash of some sort involved.)  The pork filling inside was flavorful and diced, and I thought they achieved a really nice balance between the amount of meat and the amount of bun. Granted, I had never had one before, but to my untrained palate, it was a great lunch!

After dinner, Chris and I sampled the second treat I bought: a pineapple cream bun. It was not quite what I was expecting; I think it might be an acquired taste, as I read people raving and reminiscing about them online.  It was a soft bun that had been topped with a slightly sweet, slightly crumbly mixture, so that when it baked, the topping cracked on top, sort of like a shell.  While the bun itself was puffy, there was a large air bubble inside, and on the bottom of the empty space, there was a sweet “cream” filling. It reminded me somewhat of the cheese filling you’d get in a cheese danish, but more sugary. Well-executed, I’m sure, but not my favorite.

That being said, I’m looking forward to going back and trying some other, different baked goods.  There was an sweet almond pastry that caught my eye (but I didn’t think Chris would share it with me), and the savory cheese-topped buns looked delicious. I might try to talk Chris into checking it out with me this weekend, or maybe I’ll just pick a few up for dinner next week!

3 responses

  1. I know why you love living in the “Burgh”. Good Eats that only your city can provide. Lucky you! …..and us, maybe next time we visit. =)

Leave a Reply

