An Unintentional Recipe Shuffle and Other Weekend Goodies

This post is a bit of a jumble. I guess the common theme here is how wonderful my friend are in partaking in foodie adventures with me.

You may have noticed that last week featured Theresa’s Slow Cooker Spaghetti Bolognese.  Recipe Shuffle time!  It looked delicious, she had good things to say about it, it had her son’s stamp of approval, and it would be easy to bring together at the end of the day when Chris was coming home from work–all winning traits in my book!  So I tried it, taking into account her suggestion of adding more herbs.  I added about 2 tablespoons of Italian Seasoning while I was browning the meat.  (I think I should have either used Penzey’s seasoning, which I didn’t have on hand, or added it at a different time. I still could have used more of an herby punch.) I also should have taken her suggestion about adding salt.  I was hesitant after cooking the bacon, thinking that would be enough salt. I was wrong.  (Next time, Resa, I promise to trust you completely. 🙂 )  That being said, it was pretty fabulous, and Little Miss had seconds, so she seemed to agree. I will definitely be making it again!

Speaking of best friends and awesome food, another best friend, Vanessa, was in town this weekend for a family reunion, and she was able to make some time for us on lunch both Saturday and Sunday. We made the most of those opportunities, loving the company, of course, but also the food. Saturday we braved the permanent drizzle to check out Squirrel Hill’s sidewalk sale and the Mac and Gold Food Truck.  I’m a sucker for mac and cheese, so I would like to think I know a good mac and cheese when I eat one…and this was good.  The base mac and cheese was rich and full of real cheese, the perfect balance of creaminess and sharpness. We all got different things with it, which were prepared well and served on top.  I got asparagus, spinach, and roasted red pepper, but I also tried Chris’s roasted brussels sprouts and bacon.  Delicious!

We also spend Sunday sampling some exotic favorites. I’ve been craving Green Pepper’s bibimbap, so we checked them out for lunch (and found a great little consignment shop along the way. We stopped in because Vanessa liked the pants in the window.  She walked out of there with a dress and I got four shirts, so I would say it was a successful trip!).  The bibimbap was fabulous, as always, with great fresh ingredients, rice that got perfectly crispy along the sides of the hot stone bowl, and delicious pieces of bulgogi (Korean barbequed beef).  And then we came back and shared delicate French macarons from Gaby et Jules patisserie, which are just beyond words.  A wonderful shared foodie experience!

So far, this week looks a bit more tame on the food front–maybe a trip to the Pittsburgh Public market and baking something for Chris’s company picnic on Thursday, but otherwise, pretty average. We’ll see how it ends up, though–you never do know around here!  Coming soon, to continue the friends and foodie adventures, will be some notes on a new restaurant…with a new kind of coffee. Stay tuned!

4 responses

  1. You make everything sound delicious, even though I probably wouldn’t be adventurous enough to try new things, or things I cannot even pronounce.
    As always, I will look forward to more!

  2. Funny thing about adding salt in this recipe. The original recipe states to use 1.5 tsp of salt, or more to taste. I thought the exact same thing as you – All of bacon is sure to provide more than enough salt. I’ll just do salt to taste at the end. I should have listened to the recipe to begin with! It would have saved us both this pain. :o)

    • Interesting… When does the original recipe say to add the salt, do you remember? It wasn’t just added at the end? Obviously, I would have done the same as you and omitted it, but I guess they knew what they were talking about in this case!

      • It says to add 1/2 a tsp with the onions. Then the remaining tsp with the ground beef.

        Clearly, they knew what they were doing.

Leave a Reply

