Fall! And new recipes!

Fall is officially upon us, the air is cool, the leaves are changing, and I’m in the mood for heartier dishes using some of those great fall flavors.  We’ve tried three new recipes lately (and we’re trying a fourth tonight), so I’ve got some good blogging fodder for the moment.  Only some of these come with pictures, though, so I’ll start with a simple recap.

The first of our new fall adventures was a Butternut Squash Macaroni and Cheese from the Two Peas and Their Pod blog.  I’ve had this recipe pinned for months, but it was finally getting to the time of year when I wanted to give it a try.  I won’t repost her recipe here, because this time around, I followed her directions as closely as possible.  I’ll just add some of my own commentary.

This dish was really good.  The squash made it super-creamy and silky in texture without bringing an overbearing squash flavor.  (It felt a little bit tricky, sneaking all that squash in there.  It reminded me of my college roomie who would have to disguise veggies–for herself!–in order to eat enough of them.)  I did want more cheese, however.  Chris and I agreed on what we might change next time–we would add about another 1/2 cup of cheese to each of the layers, and we would mix in 1 or 2 cups of cheese to the squash mixture before adding the macaroni in.  That would really make this incredible.  As it was, the slightly crunchy, cheesy bits along the top and sides were just the best.  And it actually reheated really nicely over medium high heat in a frying pan, with a little bit of milk and plenty of extra cheese sprinkled in.  Once we added more cheese, it had the creamy texture of Velveeta mac and cheese, which is one of our guilty pleasures.  And any time I can get that texture with a vegetable instead of processed cheese product, it’s a good thing!

So, if you’re looking for a good fall recipe with a hidden veggie punch and a rich and creamy texture, give this mac and cheese a try.  I’m looking forward to trying it out again soon!

3 responses

  1. You might want to try a different type of cheese instead of just the cheddar they have outlined – I really like adding Fontina cheese with the cheddar. The Fontina cheese is a bit nutty plus it melts pretty quickly and nicely.

    • Oh, that sounds like a really nice combination! I always hear about using cheese combinations in mac and cheese, and I really think you’re right. I’m adding that to my notes for next time! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

