Bridging the Miles with Food

It’s 996 miles, according to Google Maps’ initial calculation, from our little house in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, to Manhattan, Kansas.  That distance got a little shorter this weekend.

My dear friend Resa and I have started up a Recipe Shuffle, as we’re calling it (complete with dancing recipe cards in the header).  Our rules are fairly simple.  One week, I send a recipe over to Resa and she makes it, then reports back with pictures and comments on how it went.  The next week, she shuffles a recipe over to me, and it’s my turn.  We’ve chosen the first few weeks worth of themes and recipes, and we finally got the site off the ground over the past couple of weeks.  This week was my turn to take her favorite main dish, fettuccine alfredo with prosciutto and peas, and see what I could do with it.  (In short, it was awesome.  You can check out more details at recipeshuffle.wordpress.com.)

But even more significantly, as I was making it, I felt just a little bit closer to my fellow foodie halfway across the country.  This was something special from her table–even more so because it’s a recipe that’s evolved in her kitchen, something she can make without even a recipe anymore, just adding things until the dish seems right.  There’s something comforting and homey about that, and I got to share a piece of that this weekend.

And this morning, with Resa still on my mind, inspiration struck.  I was down at the Strip yesterday for the pasta and prosciutto, and I wanted biscotti, but alas, my normal source for baked goods was already closed. But I still wanted biscotti.  And this morning I remembered–Resa makes awesome biscotti, or so I hear!  So I borrowed her recipe, added a few ingredients that I had lying around, and just like that, my kitchen was warm and full of lovely smells, and I was full of foodie love.  (Incidentally, I love the implications of that last sentence.  I wanted biscotti, so I made it.  We had everything lying around that I needed: dry and wet goods, almonds, cranberries, even chocolate, once I chopped up some of the Wilbur’s dark chocolate buds that I had in the fridge.  How cool is that?)

And so this is a post of gratefulness.  Of friendship, even over 1,000 miles and through marriages and jobs and dogs and kids.  Of sharing recipes and sharing a piece of home, of finding new ways to stay connected in the midst of everything else that pulls us apart.  Of bridging the miles with a common love and a common denominator: food.

Grazie, I say, getting a little teary-eyed, and thank you.

3 responses

  1. Wow! It warms my heart to hear of such good friendships through the years and across the miles. I hope you’ll always have that. Good friends, good food…..great gifts only few of us possess. Enjoy!!!

  2. I just wanted to say how much I appreciate that you asked me to join you in this “little” blog adventure. To be honest, I was feeling boxed in during my own transition into stay-at-home mommy hood. This has been a fantastic way to make me feel a little bit more connected to the outside world. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to express myself in more than just the continuous stream of nonsense words that has now become my daily norm.

    Your words are so much better than mine – I guess that is why you are the writer and I just the lowly mathematician. Love you Suzer and I just wish that we could share a biscotti together!

    • *hugs* to you, Resa. I’m so glad we decided to launch this idea of ours. I feel lonely out here in Pittsburgh, sometimes, too. As you know, teaching is a more-than-full-time job, and between the demands on my time during the school year, by studies at Pitt, and just the distance, it’s isolating sometimes. While I don’t have a little one to occupy my time, I know how you feel to some extent. And, for what it’s worth, I think this “lowly mathematician” is doing a fabulous job and love reading what you have to say! I’ll take a rain check on the biscotti date–but someday, some wonderful day, we shall!! ❤

Leave a Reply

