Stuffing, Unstuffed

For some odd reason,  got it into my head that this past Sunday would be a good day to make stuffing.  I don’t know why it struck me, but I guess this recipe for stuffing has been inhabiting the back of my brain since I saw Alton make it on Good Eats over winter break.  I knew I had to try it, and apparently I decided that this was the time.

After being in the kitchen for about 2 hours, I finally had made up a nice meal: herbed chicken, stuffing, butternut squash.   (We were supposed to have cranberry sauce, but I forgot about it.)  And while it was a bit time-consuming, this was definitely a great recipe!  I modified it a little bit, because I didn’t feel like cooking an entire bird.  I’ll save that new challenge for another time.  The modifications worked well, though, and it more than satisfied my stuffing craving.  It was a little on the salty side, so I’m wondering if I would cut back on the amounts of salt with the roasting vegetables–clearly the chicken stock provided more than enough salt.  The flavor profile of the stuffing was earthy and herby, though, with little bursts of sweetness from the cherries and a nice bit of texture from the pecans.  It was totally worth it, and I totally plan on making this again.

Alton’s Herbed Stuffing, Unstuffed

  • 1 cup chopped mushrooms
  • 1 cup chopped onion (or 1 Tbsp minced onion)
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 cup chopped green pepper
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp kosher salt
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 3 cups Challah bread, cut into 1/2-inch cubes (from approximately 4 to 5 slices)–we used a package of mixed bread cubes from the bakery
  • 1 cup unsweetened dried cherries
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 2 whole eggs, beaten
  • 2 teaspoons dried rubbed sage
  • 2 teaspoons dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus extra for seasoning chicken

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

2. In a large mixing bowl toss the mushrooms, onion, celery, and green pepper with the oil and salt. Place the vegetables on a sheet pan and roast for 35 minutes. During the last 10 minutes of cooking, spread the cubed bread over the vegetables, return to the oven, and continue cooking.

3. Set oven to 350.

4. Place the roasted vegetables in a large bowl with the bread, chicken stock, cherries, pecans, eggs, sage, parsley and black pepper. Stir well in order to break up pieces of bread. Use your hands to combine, if necessary.

5. Place stuffing in a 9 x 13 foil baking pan, patting down slightly.  Bake at 350 for 20 minutes, covered with foil.  Uncover, then bake for another 10 minutes.

3 responses

  1. I am a big stuffing fan. The one thing I can’t get my head around is making stuffing and then not stuffing something with it. When one stuffs a chicken, the stuffing adds to the flavour of the chicken and the chicken does likewise to the stuffing. Lots of people are now afraid to stuff poultry for fear of not cooking the bird and poisoning the family. It really is not difficult.
    Good post,
    Conor

    • Thanks for the comment, Conor. I enjoyed looking through your blog–wonderfully written and some really mouth-watering photographs through each step of your cooking endeavors. I think my lack of stuffing a bird comes partly from laziness–but also partly that I’ve never actually cooked a whole bird before. Sounds silly, probably, but maybe that will be on my list of things to tackle on a future date!

  2. The stuffing looks delicious. I could make a meal from just that, thank you very much! Well, a little homemade cranberry sauce would round out the meal just fine. Yum!

Leave a Reply

