Things That Are Too Good to Keep to Myself: Dogfish Head Beer Sampling

Hi there, world!  It’s been forever since I’ve posted, pretty much since school started, and I’ve missed keeping you up with my foodie and beer news from my kitchen and around the city.  As always, I’ll aim to do better.  However, my job for right now is to update you, dear world, on a few things that are just too good to keep to myself.  I’ll start, as I am wont to do, with the beer.


Twenty Faithfull Ale

I like Pearl Jam.  I also like beer.  Thus, when we saw this in the case at Blue Dust, I knew I had to try it.  The brewery’s website describes this beer as a “Belgian-style golden ale…delicately hopped to 20 IBUs and fruit-forward from 10 incremental additions of black currants over a one-hour boil.”  I’d agree with that; I’d also add that it’s one of my favorite beers that I’ve had in a long time.  It’s a beautiful honeyed color, not cloudy, just rich, clear, gold.  The taste was pretty fruit-forward–I imagine it was the currants that I was tasting, and though I’ve never actually had a currant, the fruitiness definitely came through.  It wasn’t overly sweet, though.  Well-balanced, with a bit more tartness and some of the spices coming through at the end.  (As a fun side-note, the head was fluffy and dissipated after the first few sips, but our nifty Dogfish Head glasses have a little dogfish etched into the bottom of the class, which keeps bubbles coming to the surface in a peculiar oval shape in the middle of the glass!)  Really, this was just fabulous.

Namaste

This was a refreshing hearkening back to our visit to the brewery in August.  We picked this bottle up while we were there, and we’ve been looking for a good reason to break into it–and some company and a Thursday night Steelers game seemed the perfect opportunity.  It’s described as “a Belgian-style White made with dried organic orange slices, fresh cut lemongrass and a bit of coriander…a great summer quencher.”  It was light and golden, and a little cloudy, especially by the end of the bottle.  It had some hints of citrus, and though it had a little spice and sharpness to it, it wasn’t overly hoppy, making it easy to drink.  It was good, but two things impeded my enjoyment of this beer.  For one thing, it was winter, and we were hanging out talking about holiday decorations and watching football–it was a little incongruous to be drinking such a light and summery beer.  Also, I don’t think we had kept it in the fridge for quite long enough, which meant that although it started off at a drinkable temperature, it got too warm too quickly.  I enjoyed it, though, and I would definitely be up for getting it again.


Miles Davis’ Bitches Brew

The more astute of you may remember this beer from the pre-events from last year’s Big Pour.  It was one of the rarities included in the Dogfish Head sampler at Blue Dust last year, and I fell in love with it–so when we saw it in the cases at Blue Dust a few weeks ago, we had to pick some up.  The descriptionlabels this “a bold, dark beer that’s a fusion of three threads imperial stout and one thread honey beer with gesho root.”  (It also has some cool background on the making of this beer and the relationship between the beer and the music.)  I’ve never listened to the album, but I’ve enjoyed the beer quite a bit! It was dark, with a rich coffee-colored head, and a surprisingly sweet aroma.  Some of that sweetness carried through in the taste, bringing forward notes of coffee and a hint of chocolate.  There was a slight bit of alcohol in the aftertaste–which I guess isn’t surprising, as it clocked in at 9%.  The sweetness of the honey and the slight pucker of the alcohol came through more for me as it warmed.  Perhaps a little dark and heavy for our choice of dinner that day, but a fabulous winter-time treat, nonetheless!
6 responses

  1. ‘as you know, I’m not a well educated beer lover, but enjoy the descriptions you give so much so, that I want to pour some of each, and sit down for a chat. Most importantly, I need to stress how amazing the photo at the top of this post is. ……and the falling snow, my oh my, what a beautiful sight! =)

    • Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed the descriptions and the new banner. I like the new color scheme with it, too. Crisp and wintery. I had to do something about the berries that were still there from the summer!

  2. Sounds like I’m going to have to try Twenty Faithfull.
    We just had Easton’s Weyerbacher Winter Ale. Think you’ll like it — a lot. Very smooth, dark, lots of flavor. No sense of the alcohol, but a distinct unsweetened chocolate finish. If you’re lucky, Santa will save you one. And a copy of Bitches’ Brew.

    • If you can find it, it’s definitely worth trying. It’s a big bottle, but it’s a fantastic brew. I had the Weyerbacher Winter Ale last year; I think it was one of my “12 beers of Christmas.” I remember enjoying it quite a bit. Glad you’ve been enjoying it, too! And I love your description of it. Sounds just like I remember. Listen to you–talking like a beer geek. Welcome to the club! 😉

Leave a Reply

