Last Day of Leisurely Lunches: Pecan-Crusted Shrimp

It’s about that time again…time to start packing lunches that I can put together and eat in 20 minutes or fewer.  I’m not complaining–it’s been a good summer, and I always enjoy the opportunity for a leisurely weekday lunch. But it’s time to put that aside until next summer.

To celebrate my final day of freedom, I did a little experiment and ended up with a pretty good lunch!  Here’s my estimates about what I did.  This made a good lunch for me–t could easily be doubled to make dinner for two.  As with most coatings, there was more than enough for the shrimp I used–I could have coated more.  The coating, browned in butter, was a little sweet, a little savory, and had a nice bit of crunch to it.  Best of all, since I look for fresh, uncooked, cleaned shrimp from the supermarket when its on sale, then freeze it, I can whip this up again for dinner or a weekend lunch when the mood strikes me!

Pecan-Crusted Shrimp

8-10 shrimp, fresh or fully defrosted
1/4 cup crushed pecans
1/4 cup plain breadcrumbs
1 Tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp ground cumin
a dash of cayenne pepper
a dash of salt
butter (about 1/2 Tbsp)

Mix the dry ingredients together.  Heat butter over medium heat in a non-stick skillet.  Coat shrimp in the pecan mixture, flipping to coat both sides and pushing the mixture onto the shrimp.  When butter is bubbling and starting to brown, add shrimp to the pan.  Cook 4-5 minutes on each side, or until golden brown and delicious.  Enjoy!

One response

  1. Yum! What a great way to end the summer than with a wonderful lunch. This sounds delicious, easy enough, and a good way to treat yourself. You deserve it!

    Have a great new school year. I wish you good classes, good kids, good times…..and then, at home, continued good eats! =)

Leave a Reply

