Garam Masala Nuts and Oats

This granola is awesome.  It traveled to my parents’ house with me, then to the shore, creating little granola converts along the way.  The warm, earthiness of the garam masala and cumin with the nuts makes this mix inviting, and the granola adds a little sweetness with some cinnamon and coconut.  It was a great shore snack.  And I got to play space ambassador whenever people commented on how good the granola was, asking the inevitable “what’s in this?”.  The spice mix was really good, but not one that our families were really used to–a pleasant surprise for all!

This granola was an interesting experiment to make–it was pretty easy, but I made it in two separate batches.  I mixed up the nuts first, cooking them on one cookie sheet, and then I made the granola clusters, baking them on another sheet.  Then, when they were both cool, I tossed them together to make a nice mix.  For the nuts, I used Aarti’s recipe.  For the granola portion, I took the base idea of Alton’s granola, but then I made a number a different changes.  I switched up some of the ratios of ingredients, using more liquid than the original recipe called for.  I packed the ingredients down on the baking sheet to make little granola clumps.  I left out the nuts, since I already Aarti’s recipe for that.  And I totally altered the spice profile.  So, all in all, this oat mixture sort of took on a life of its own, but a successful one at that.  Here it is:

Garam Masala Nuts and Oats

Nuts:
3/4 cup peanuts
3/4 cup pecans, roughly chopped
3/4 cup almonds, roughly chopped
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 Tbsp ground coriander
1 Tbsp ground cumin
2 tsp garam masala
2 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 250 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix all ingredients together and pour onto the baking sheet. Toast for 40 minutes, rotating the baking sheet halfway through for even baking. Remove from the oven and allow it to cool. 

Oats:
1  1/2 cups rolled oats
3/4 cup coconut flakes, sweetened
1/8 cup + 1 Tbsp brown sugar
1/8 cup + 1 Tbsp maple syrup
1/8 cup vegetable oil
dash of salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp garam masala

Preheat the oven to 250 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix all ingredients together well and pour onto baking sheet.  Press firmly with hand or back of measuring cup until tightly packed.  Bake for 1 hour, turning pan every 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and allow to cool completely.  When cool, break into clumps and mix with nuts.
6 responses

  1. Not being a trail mix kind of guy, it was with some reluctance that I sampled the mix. Surprise! I liked it, well, not the pecans so much, but all the rest, especially your granola. Who knew I’d get so spiced over garam masala? Or was it the cinnamon?

  2. Oh, I am so glad to have the recipe…..’ off to the store for some garam masala! Happy, Happy, indeed! Thanks! …..and thanks for your revisions!

    • Awesome–I look forward to hearing how that goes. Did you see Aarti’s show today with the sweet potato fries–some cumin, garam masala, and salt? We’ve done that before (after watching her use that same combination on parsnips, we tried it on sweet potatoes ourselves), and it’s wonderful! If you liked the flavor of the nuts, you would like those sweet potatoes as well.

  3. Pingback: Adding a Little International Flair to Chicken « Recipe Shuffle

Leave a Reply

