They’re Still Here…

So, the strawberries are still here.

I say that with love and affection, knowing that there will be few, if any, at the farmers’ market on Monday.  And then I’ll move on to raspberries and blueberries, which is okay by me, too.

This wealth of berries in my fridge has prompted an interesting creation, and one I never would have thought of: a strawberry-based stir-fry.  I was intrigued.  It featured noodles, beef, and a bed of spinach–though as you can see, we tweaked that and sauteed beef, broccoli, and sugar snap peas over some soba noodles.  The sauce is strawberry, soy, ginger, and a little bit of sugar and vinegar.  It had a little bit of bite, I think from the vinegar, which I might try leaving out next time.  The color combination was an unexpected one, too.  However, as bizarre as it sounds, the soy, ginger, and strawberries actually worked well together.

The having some angel food cake and strawberries to end the evening made it, all in all, a successful day.

One response

  1. Wow, I would not have thought of that combination of flavors, but it does look yummy. I’ll bet a touch of honey would cut the sharpness of the vinegar, and maybe enhance the flavors,… or not. ‘ just a suggestion. It was a good strawberry season, indeed. I am looking forward to more posts for the upcoming seasonal gems. =)

Leave a Reply

