Chronicling a Weekend in Food

I’m considering changing the name of the blog from “Adventures of a City Foodie” to “Chronicling a Life in Food,” though I don’t know that it has the same ring to it.  But really, I think you could chronicle a lot of life’s events by the food that goes along with them.  Think about it.  You get together with an old friend, and what do you do? You go out for coffee or dinner or dessert.  Celebrating a big occasion?  Go out to a nice dinner.  (Conversely, things getting busy and the play is going on? Find a way to minimize time spend on food and search for the short cuts.)  Food is such a focal point of life, it says a lot about what’s going on at any given time.

That being said, here’s the foodie chronicle of my weekend in DC visiting Vanessa.  We had a lovely time and we toured some awesome sights, like the Capitol building and the Library of Congress.  We stayed up until 2 a.m. or later, just talking.  We watched a few movies.  And we ate well.  Here’s my test to my theory: my wonderful weekend, as told through what we ate, and when, and where, and why.

Friday evening, I drove down and met up with Dana in Rockville, MD.  We met up at this nifty diner and got a chance to catch up, which was fabulous.  She got bread pudding, I believe, and I got carrot cake.  A super-massive piece of carrot cake.  And coffee.  Which was helpful, because what should have been a 20 minute drive down to Vanessa’s turned into a terrible hour of getting lost off the beltway at 11:30 at night.

On Saturday, for brunch, we got up and made scrambled eggs with every kind of veggie in the house–zucchini, carrot, 3 colors of peppers, onion, tomato, and eventually some cheese–along with cocktail grapefruits (nifty mix of grapefruit and orange), left over crabcakes (for breakfast!), and toast with homemade fig jam.  One of the neatest things was just getting to be there, cooking with each other.  Vanessa says she doesn’t normally let other people share her kitchen–so I felt honored to get to share that with her.  She even let me be in charge of the eggs.

Then we went touring!  (Hence the pictures at the bottom of the post.)  We saw some amazing buildings, learned a lot of history and cool facts, and even got library cards for the Library on Congress.  I am so going there to do some research for my Masters project this summer!  We were hungry after our tours, so we stopped at We, The Pizza, apparently known for their good pizza in the area.  I got a slice of pepperoni and a cream soda–they mix all their sodas to order.  It tasted really good, but looked a little gross after the cream sort of separated…but that’s not what matters.  Neat little place, and a fun random stop along the path of our day.

On our way to dinner, we walked through the Eastern Market, which reminded me a lot of the Pittsburgh Public Market, actually.  Perhaps there was more meat products in the Eastern Market, whereas a lot of the things at the PPM are various locally-made products, but it was neat.  We found a wonderfully quirky used book store.  And we braved the construction-ridden Metro to get to the Old Ebbitt Grill, where we planned to go for dinner.  Lynnea was going to join us, but they closed 95 (because of a fire, apparently), so it ended up just being the two of us.  We were able to find a seat at the bar and had a lovely meal.  I tried oysters for the first time (though, in all fairness, they were steamed and wrapped in bacon, so it would be difficult to go wrong with that) and I had an amazing crab cake with sweet potatoes and green beans.  Any day I get to eat two crab cakes in one day is okay by me. 😉  We finished it off with pumpkin creme brulee and then felt the need to roll our way home.  We ended the evening with a beer, a movie, and more catching up.  (I’ve missed this so much!)

The next day I had to leave, which was sad–next time, I want to stay more than a day!  We reprised our veggie mix, this time in an omelet, and Vanessa made this awesome fruit salad.  It’s really a simple glaze that can go over any kind of fruit.  We used strawberries and cocktail grapefruits, I believe, because that’s what was on hand, but it was really tasty!  I’ll leave you with that recipe and a few pictures of our touring adventures.

1 tbsp honey
1 tbsp lime juice
1/2 tsp corn starch

Mix all ingredients in a microwave-safe boiling.  Heat in microwave until just boiling.  Pour over fruit–and enjoy!

Overall, what an amazing weekend! I need to do this more often!

2 responses

  1. I really enjoyed this trip — vicariously. Except for the part about the oysters. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

