Football Food, Super Bowl Edition: Deviled Eggs

Every year at work, we have a giant feast two or three days before winter break.  Anyone interested in participating signs up to bring something, and we fill the faculty room with all kinds of food and goodies and dig in.  (There’s usually enough left-overs for another day or two, as well.)  Because that’s such fun, and because everyone out here loves the Steelers (as much or more than Christmas, in some cases), it was suggested that we have a tailgate party on Friday to celebrate the Super Bowl.  I have since gotten much good-natured ribbing from my friend Julie at work, who happened to be witness to my reaction upon walking in to the faculty room and seeing lots of people having conversations around all of the various goodies they brought to share.  She does an eerily spot-on impression in which I clap my little hands, give a little hop, and exclaim, “I love it! There’s so much food!”  …I wish I could say Julie was making that up.  She’s not.

So, in that vein, I thought I would share the recipe I brought for the party.  In the past, I’ve tried to bring something different, but it just never went over too well.  So this time, I went something a little more classic–deviled eggs.  I hope people enjoyed them–at the very least, they all got eaten!   Here’s the recipe.  It’s unique in its use of dill–it gives a slightly different flavor than the usual inclusion of mustard, but I rather like the freshness of it.  Give it a try and see what you think!

Oh, and, PS.  Go Steelers!

Disappearing Deviled Eggs
from Penzey’s recipe cards

6 eggs, hard-boiled and peeled
1-2 Tbsp mayonnaise
1 Tbsp cream cheese
1 Tbsp sweet pickle relish
1/4 – 1/2 tsp shallot salt (or garlic powder, if you don’t have shallot salt)
1/4 – 1/2 tsp Fox Point Seasoning
1/8 – 1/4 tsp dill weed (we use the smaller amount–it’s pretty potent)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 ground black pepper
Paprika to garnish

Cut the cooked eggs in half lengthwise.  Remove the yolks and place in a bowl.  Mash with a fork.  Add 1 Tbsp of the mayonnaise, the cream cheese, relish, shallot salt (garlic powder), Fox Point, and dill.  Blend well, until smooth, adding the extra Tbsp of mayonnaise if needed for a nice, smooth consistency.  Add salt and pepper to taste, then mound the filling into the egg whites or use a pastry bag for a fancier look.  Garnish with paprika and serve.

4 responses

  1. *lol* I would love to be a fly on the wall to see Julie’s impression of you. I can, however, see it very clearly, right here and now! =)
    ‘ gotta love that foodiesuzy!!! the love of food, excitement over variety, and new things to try, color, texture, and pure enjoyment of it all. Good for you! Enjoy the food, enjoy the game!
    ….and, oh yes, for Chris, Go Steelers!

  2. Yum! Those sound delicious! And I love Julie’s impression of you… or the description of it, at least. 🙂

    (You rooted for the Steelers!? What will happen if your fellow Eagles fans find out!?)

    • Thanks, Eliza! Good to hear from you–hope all is well with you guys out there!
      I loved your pictures of your little girl’s Super Bowl outfit. I did root for the Steelers–it so infrequently comes into conflict with the Eagles, so I figure it’s safe. It’s not like it’s the Cowboys or something! Besides, when in Rome, (or in Pittsburgh)… 🙂

  3. Pingback: The blog’s still here, and so am I… | Burgh Bytes

Leave a Reply

