Chocolate Cherry Almond Biscotti

After all of the cooking Chris and I had done last week, I was feeling the need to bake.  And with Chris not being home this past weekend, I figured baking would be something of a comfort.  Something enjoyable, something to make the house smell good, and something yummy to eat.  (Perhaps this also came from the disheartening lack of Cinnamon Crunch bagels at Panera and the subsequent smashing of my hopes for a special breakfast treat this weekend.)  Of course, the desire to bake struck me while I was at school…and the biscotti recipe I had from Resa that I was dying to try was at home.  But through the magic of the internet, I found an alternative.

Emeril’s original recipe didn’t call for chocolate chips; it called for using semisweet chocolate, melting it, and dipping the biscotti in it.  While I’m sure that would be decadent, it would be a lot more work and, honestly, more difficult to eat.  So I decided to forgo the dipping chocolate and added chocolate chips instead. (I adjusted the amounts of cherries and almonds to make some room in the dough for the chocolate chips, and it seemed to work rather well, so I’m putting my measurements in here for those ingredients.)  Overall, this recipe was a win!  My biscotti didn’t harden up quite as much as I thought it would–I wonder if I didn’t bake it for quite long enough the first time around–so the texture is somewhere between a cookie and a biscotti.  But the flavor is fantastic!  Be careful, though, as they tend to be addictive, but they’re a decadent, delicious way to start your morning…or to end your day.

Dried Cherry and Chocolate Biscotti

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup unblanched whole almonds
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In a mixing bowl, sift the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Stir in the almonds, cherries, and chocolate chips.

3. In another mixing bowl, whisk the eggs, sugar, and vanilla until smooth. Stir the dry ingredients into the egg mixture. Mix well. Lightly dust the work surface with cocoa powder. Turn the dough onto the surface and knead the dough a couple of times. Shape the dough into a log, about 12 inches long and 4 inches wide. Place the dough on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake for about 30 minutes, or until golden and firm to the touch.

4. Remove from the oven and cool completely on a wire rack. Using a serrated knife, slice the bread diagonally into 1/4-inch slices. Place the slices on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake for an additional 12 to 14 minutes or until golden and crispy.

5. Remove from the oven and cool completely a second time on a wire rack.

 

I linked this up with Sweet as Sugar Cookie’s Sweets for a Saturday.  Check it out if you need even more of a sweet fix!

3 responses

  1. The texture you describe is very pleasing to me. Honestly, I think biscotti generally is a bit too hard.

    Your pics are wonderful! I wish I could give them a try right now with a cup of hot coffee/tea, and some good conversation with my favorite foodies!

  2. I totally understand about the biscotti being still somewhat moist after the second baking. I have found that to get them nice and crispy, I leave them in the oven for 10 minutes on one side, then flip them and bake for another 10 minutes. Then they get a nice little browning to the edges.

Leave a Reply

