Trying New Vegetables: Parsnip Chips

I’m all about trying new recipes.  Unfortunately, that often means trying new main dish recipes because, well, they’re more fun.  And you feel so much more accomplished after an impressive new main dish.  (And I have a really impressive one to share from last weekend…but it’s going to be quite a post, so it’s taking a little while to get it together.  Hold your proverbial horses.)

So last night we branched out and tried a new side dish, a preparation of parsnips I saw Aarti do this week.  We had never had parsnips, but I like the flavor of garam masala, so I thought I’d give it a try.  And it was really good!  Chris and I were surprised at the aroma of the parsnips–it was a little sharp, and he described it as something like pine.  The flavor was a little sharp, too, but it worked well with the seasoning.  It was just barely there under all of the masala-y goodness.  I adjusted the measurements a bit because I like spices, but not spicy, and Aarti used a bit too much chili powder for me.  Also, one of the reviewers of the recipe at foodnetwork.com suggested mixing in some sweet potatoes, and I’ll bet that would also be wonderful.  Here’s my adjusted recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds parsnips, about 4 large ones
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon chile powder
  • 1 teaspoon garam masala
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
2. Peel the parsnips and slice off the root. Cut into thick fries as evenly as possible. In a large bowl, mix together the olive oil, chile powder, garam masala, salt, and pepper. Add the parsnips and toss to coat. Place on a parchment or foil-lined baking sheet.
3. Roast for 40 to 45 minutes, tossing the chips halfway through to ensure even cooking. Chips are done when they’re lightly caramelized and a knife inserted in the chips goes in and comes out without much resistance.

One response

  1. I saw the show, the parsnip chips looked delicious then, and now, after your review, I will have to give it a try. I must admit that I would not have given it a second thought had you not encouraged me to do so.
    A must try! =)

Leave a Reply

