My New Downfall

So, since Christmas, one of my new presents has been calling me.  It’s been sitting in its box on my living room floor, mournfully longing to be used.  It’s haunted me–I wanted to use it, really I did, but it didn’t fit into any of the meals for the week.  I wanted to find something special and interesting for it, but I hadn’t had the time.  And in the meantime, it saw there, lonesome yet primed and ready for action.

(Yes, that’s my food processor there on the right.  Lovely little wonder of a kitchen appliance, isn’t she?)

Well, I finally found something to make in it, something I’ve been craving since I first saw the recipe on one of the blogs I follow: Peanutella.

Nutella is a wonderful thing.  I’ve always been quite a fan.  My interest in the stuff has only been heightened by my friend Dana, who has a love affair of epic proportions for the Nutella/pretzel combination, and who can blame her, really?  Well, this new treat might give Nutella a run for its money.  Peanut butter and chocolate, all in one lusciously spreadable package?  It’s like something out of a dream.  And it was really quite easy to make!  I bought some blanched peanuts and roasted them for five minutes, like Deb over at Smitten Kitchen recommends.  I got Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder, and the rest was a snap!  The hardest part will be not eating it all in a day!

Click here for Smitten Kitchen’s post and the recipe.

Go ahead.  Click the link.  You won’t regret it.

6 responses

  1. There are boy toys and there are girl toys. And then there are… KITCHEN toys! Have fun.

  2. Now that is a hot food processor. I want a new one like that along with a ton of other wonderful kitchen toys.

    But like you, meals for the week have to fit into the tiny bit of time after work but before I feel like taking a nap. So I totally understand about not being able to use every kitchen tool I have every week.

    • Thanks! It was an awesome addition to the kitchen toys. I’m looking forward to finding more uses for it.
      But probably not on weeknights. I feel exactly the same way about weeknight cooking. Some nights, I’m lucky if I feel like reheating leftovers! But that’s what weekends are for, right?

Leave a Reply

