Summer…Soup?

I don’t often introduce my posts with a picture first, but then again, I don’t often take such care to plate my food perfectly.  This time I did.  Isn’t it lovely?

Continuing my forays into new and interesting recipes, I made a chilled peach and brown sugar soup for dinner last week, served with a salad, some filet, and rolls.  And beer.  Who says you need to go to a restaurant and eat fancy, expensive food to have a fantastic dinner?  Because I think we did it just there.

I got The New England Soup Factory Cookbook from my grandmother for my wedding shower (and I know Mom liked it so much, she bought one for herself, too).  We tried a few of the soups in there last winter, but this was my first attempt at a cold soup.  Most of their recipes need to be halved, because they make massive quantities of soup.  We might be eating peach soup for the next two weeks, because I don’t think it will freeze well.  But at least it’s tasty!

The soup is cool and smooth and rich, on account of the cream added last in the process.  It’s a heightened peach flavor, with some extra sweetness from the brown sugar and just a hint of spice from the ginger.  With fresh local peaches, it’s a phenomenal summer dish–and not too hard, either.  It took a little bit of time, but nothing too complicated!

(In looking to see if this recipe was available online so I could link to it, I happened across this one: Chilled Tomato and Peach Soup with Basil.  It looks amazing…but as Chris isn’t a fan of tomatoes, I don’t think it’s an option here.  Anyone who is more tomato-loving and adventurously-eating is welcome to try it and get back to me on how it is, please!)

2 responses

  1. So, you ask ” isn’t it lovely?” OMG, that picture belongs on the cover of some high-end, exquite cooking magazine, or better yet, the finest new cookbook of the year!

    It looks amazing, I can almost smell the freshness of the peaches. You are an artist and amazing foodie. You both are over the top, young, hip foodies.

    Very cool, very cool, indeed! …..and I’m not just saying that ‘cuz I’m your mom. Enjoy!!!
    =)

    • Thanks, Mom! I was pretty proud of this dish, for both its taste and plating (can you tell I’ve been watching too much Food Network this summer?). You should try the recipe! it really isn’t that hard, and it’s absolutely delicious.

Leave a Reply

