A Brave New Exploration, and A Success!

One of my teacher-friends had me over a few nights ago to talk shop, plan for the year, and enjoy an informal get-together before the school year began.  She asked my to bring some fruit, for which I ventured to the farmer’s market on Monday.  I wanted to do something special, though, and I knew we were having chicken caesar salad.  What would go well with that?  Why, a homemade bread, of course!

So I whipped out my bread book (My Bread by Jim Lahey) and tested my hand at rustic, old-fashioned bread.  I had read through this book a few weeks ago and I’d been looking for an excuse to try it out.  We were hit with some bad news and I almost opted not to make the bread, but I’m so glad I decided to do it anyway.  It wasn’t that difficult, and the results were amazing!  I think I’m addicted–I can’t wait to do it again.  The crust was nice and crisp, and the inside chewy and rich.  So good!  I just need to find a way to store it more effectively.  The book recommends not putting it in a plastic bag, but I didn’t, and it got terribly stale overnight.  Luckily there wasn’t much left over from dinner, so I just cut off a bit of the crust and ate it anyway!  🙂

6 responses

  1. I love his bread book. If I wasn’t such a klutz with my bread knife when I cut the bread, I would make it more often. Yeah, no plastic baggie action. I did it and it just got weird – not sure how else to say it. What I have done is taken to wrapping the bread in parchment paper (wax paper would probably work too). It will stay that way 2, maybe 3 days tops. I will confess the outside edge the you have cut gets a bit hard, but if you make a careful little slice of the cut end, the insides are still just as wonderful as when you first cut the bread.

    Not sure if that made any sense – my whole day has been a little off.

    • That’s what he recommended–the trick with the waxed paper. I was a little skeptical, but if you say it’s true, I’ll believe you. I’ll try that next time. And maybe that’s just one more reason for Andy to come home–so he can cut your bread for you. 🙂
      And you made perfect sense. I hope your days have been a little better since the stormy incident.

  2. It looks so wonderful I’m surprised there was any leftover the next morning!

  3. Your bread looks like it turned out great. Good for you!
    It is crispy and delicious. Actually, I do put my left-over bread in plastic, and it’s not nearly as good as out of the oven, but it makes great toast! Usually, there is not a lot left-over.

    I bought some rye flour. I would like to give that recipe a try, it’s just been so hot that I don’t want to crank up the oven to “screamin’ hot” temps. Seeing your picture though, makes me re-think that.

    Enjoy! Making bread is so satisfying (in so many ways). =)

    • I’ll be interested to hear how the rye bread turns out. There’s a lot of great recipes in his book, and I can’t wait to try some of the others. I figured I’d start off simple, like he recommends, and I can move on to the more complicated breads after making a standard loaf or two.

Leave a Reply

