Recipe Time: Summer Barley Salad

This was a really tasty recipe, really perfect for summer lunches or for a side with dinner.  (Cooking Light cites it as a vegetarian main course, but I like a bit of meat with my grains.  So there.)  I loved it, I ate it for about 5 lunches and 3 dinners and Chris had some, too…and we still have more in our fridge.  It’s never-ending.  I think the ratio of barley to other stuff is also off.  So, I’m adjusting the amounts some in the recipe.  Here’s the recipe with my new-and-improved figurings. For those who are purists, or those who don’t want to deal with my guesswork, the original recipe can be found here.
Summer Barley Salad
  • 3/4  cups  uncooked pearl barley
  • 1 to 1 1/2  cup  fresh corn kernels (3 ears)
  • 1  cup  diced seeded plum tomato (about 2 small)
  • 1/2  cup  chopped green onions
  • 1/4  cup  chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 20  kalamata olives, pitted and coarsely chopped
  • 3  tablespoons  fresh lemon juice
  • 2  tablespoons  olive oil
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1  garlic clove, minced
  • 3/4  cup  (3 ounces) crumbled feta cheese

1. Cook barley according to package directions, omitting salt. (If you haven’t cooked barley before, like me, take note: this step will take you about 45 minutes!)  Drain and rinse with cold water. Cool completely.

2. Combine barley, corn, and next 4 ingredients (through kalamata olives) in a bowl. Combine juice and next 4 ingredients (through garlic), stirring well with a whisk; drizzle over barley mixture. Toss to coat.  (This dressing was good, but the flavor barely came through.  Next time I might try to double the dressing amount…)

3. The recipe says to sprinkle with cheese and serve.  I preferred to sprinkle a little bit of cheese over each individual serving portion.  I probably used more than 3/4 cup total, but I think it’s the way to go.

One response

  1. WOW!!! The pictures make me want to come to your house for dinner……right now!
    The fresh food looks super delicious. You should do this for a living, cooking and great photographs!
    ‘ gosh you’re good! =) ….and I’m not just saying that ‘cuz I’m your mom. =)

Leave a Reply

