Two Friends, Two Small Black Dogs, and Lots of Good Food

A few…well, a few weeks ago, now, because I have been sloth-like in my posting duties, Chris and Raven and I had two wonderful visitors: Theresa and Silvio!  Well, Chris and I were thrilled and had a lovely time…Raven was uncertain about the whole thing.  She eventually resolved herself to allow Silvio on the couch without a fuss, but she still insisted on barking at him every morning when he came downstairs.  But those of us with two legs got on beautifully.  We visited Phipps Conservatory to see the Blue Agave plant–it only blooms once every 50-70 years!  We went to see The Producers–which was a lot of fun.  We laughed and caught up on each other’s lives and just generally had a wonderful time.

And of course, we ate well.  🙂  Resa and I went to Hofbrauhaus for dinner one night to check out massive German beers (well, only half-massive beers for us.  I did have to drive home, after all!) and the most amazing pretzels and beercheese ever!  One of the things I thought was especially cool, though, was cooking dinner together before seeing the show.  I mean, I guess it sounds silly, but I think there’s something really special about cooking a meal with someone–it’s such a neat way to share something special.  Especially so when you’re cooking with another foodie.  It was always one of the things I liked about our townhouse in college.  About once a month, we made the time to cook together and eat together.  One person would be in charge of the main dish, and we’d pitch in and help out wherever we could.  One of the first nights (the first night, maybe even, because I remember parents still being around), we were already at it.  We had Resa’s famous meatballs and pasta and salad and bread and togetherness.  And we had chicken croquettes and stir-frys and home-made gnocchi and Christmas cookies and a veritable feast at Thanksgiving time…and they were some of the times I felt closest to everyone, and some of my fondest memories from the house.  I even compiled all of our recipes into a book for the girls for graduation presents.  I don’t know if they still have them or if they really “got it,” but I hope so; I still have mine and I pull it down and look through it every now and again, and it always makes me smile.  Yeah, I suppose it’s sappy, but it doesn’t get much better than that.  So to have Resa over here and to get to cook together was something really special.

And so that you, too, can live out that specialness, here’s what we made!  Grab someone you care about and get cooking!

Pan-Glazed Chicken with Basil

1 lb. chicken tenders
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper
2 tsp olive oil
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp honey
2 tbsp chopped fresh basil

Mix together vinegar, honey, and basil; set aside.  Sprinkle both side of chicken with salt and pepper.  Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add chicken; cook 5 minutes or until lightly browned.  Turn chicken, and cook 6 minutes or until done.  Pour vinegar mixture over chicken; cook 1 additional minute.
Broccoli Couscous

10 oz. broccoli
14 1/2 oz. can of chicken broth
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground pepper
1 c (10 oz. package)  uncooked couscous (I used one that had garlic and herb seasoning)

So, I’m ditching the recipe for this one in favor of Resa’s variations.  She says it turned out great.  Ours was good, too, but it took some maneuvering–I think she’s onto something here.  So, here is Resa’s new and improved instructions:
“Put the steamer broccoli in the microwave for half of it’s cooking time. When the broth for the couscous is boiling, add the broccoli and wait until the broth comes back up to a boil. Add couscous, stir. Put a cover on it and turn off the heat.”

Resa, if you’re reading, thanks for the revisions–and for sharing some good food and good times with me!! 🙂

4 responses

  1. Wow! I can feel the love. It doesn’t get much better than that……well, next time I’d love to be invited along. =) ………’ only joking.
    That my friends is good food, good friends and good times. How lucky you are, not everyone understands that. =)

  2. We had a fantastic time. I miss being able to cook with someone else. Usually when Andy is home he just watches me cook. I miss the dinners at the townhouse too. It was one of my favorite parts about living in that house.

    How could I not share a change in the couscous?!?!? I sort of was the one who encountered/created the little problem when we made it. Plus the meal turned out yummy. When a meal turns out yummy, I always look for a way to either make it tastier or a trick to make it easier. Maybe next time I will switch out the broccoli and do like green beans and carrots…or corn. Oh the possibilities are endless.

    • I feel silly even comparing, but I do sort of know what you mean about missing cooking with someone. I mean, Chris is home on weekends, but for now at least, I’m cooking dinners by myself. Now that it’s summer and I have more time to explore and try cool new recipes, I wish I had someone around to actually make them with me. So it was awesome to have you in the kitchen, cooking together again! 🙂 I’m happy that you loved the townhouse dinners, too. (Of course you did!) But I thought they were really something special.
      I’m all about looking for ways to tweak recipes and make them better, too. I could see green beans and carrots working well with the couscous. Tomatoes and olives might be a nice Mediterranean twist, too. I feel like corn might be an odd texture, but if you try it, do let me know!

Leave a Reply

