…in which Alton and I Get Buff

I tried Alton’s “Buff Smoothie” for lunch yesterday.  I don’t know that I’m going to be blending up my breakfast during the school year, but I thought this was something I could get into over the summer–and boy, could I ever get into it!  It was easy and it was tasty.  Chris and I both commented that the main smell of it was banana, but the taste wasn’t overpowering.  It was actually a really nice blend, in that I could get bits of all of the different flavors, and no one fruit arm-wrestled the others out of the way.  Here’s the recipe, adjusted for measuring cups, in case you’re mundane like me and don’t own a scale for measuring ingredients.

  • 4 ounces plain, low-fat soy milk (I used vanilla. I don’t know that it made a difference…)
  • 4 ounces acai, grape, or pomegranate juice (I used a blueberry-pomegranate)
  • 1/2 cup banana (about 1/2 a banana)
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen peaches (about 6 slices)

I microwaved the frozen fruit for about 1 1/2 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds, to help thaw it out a little bit.  Then I tossed everything in the blender, blended it on low “until it formed a vortex in the middle,” medium for about 30 seconds, then high for 1 minute. Perfect!

Today I tried a variation for a snack. Half of a banana, 6 slices of peach, 4 strawberries, 4 0z white-cranberry-peach juice and 4 oz soy milk.  Similarly successful.  I guess the moral of the story is that not only is this refreshing and healthy, it’s also totally customizable.  Isn’t food great?

Oh, and BTW…Alton is going on tour in October to promote the second book in his “trilogy” of Good Eats cookbooks.  The closest he’s coming to me is Princeton, NJ–and that’s on a Monday night.  Who wants to magically transport me across a state or two?  You’ve got a few months to figure it out…

And I really am going to write those other posts…as soon as I finish this paper.  The end of the semester is a killer.

One response

  1. yum! it all sounds delicious and so very good for you. Your description, as always, makes my mouth water just thinking about it. This sounds like a MUST try, with so many options!
    love
    mom

Leave a Reply

