A Loosening of Liquor Laws

Chris and I have long lamented the idiocy of the liquor laws in the fine state of Pennsylvania, where you couldn’t buy beer in anything smaller than a case, and even then only at beer distributors.  None of this six-packs at the gas station for us; we would all become alcoholic menaces to society, clearly.  Well, at some point in the recent past, those laws were loosened in some cases, and some grocery stores in the area were finally allowed to sell six-packs.  Now, it’s not ideal, because I think they still are selling them from refrigerator cases rather than a room temperature (which means they have to stay cold, which can be taxing on fridge space at home).  But they’re sold.  And that’s an improvement.

So Chris and I discovered that one such grocery store is the Giant Eagle at the Waterfront–a 5-20 minute drive, depending on traffic. 🙂  We checked it out last week, and found they actually had a decent selection–for the location and convenience, certainly worth remembering.  It wasn’t really any cheaper than you’d find anywhere else, but the other six-pack shops we know of are a bit more out of the way.

Chris picked out the Troegs Dreamweaver Wheat, one of the beers we had at our wedding and a lovely summer beer.  I chose the Dogfish Head Midas Touch, which was awesome.  It’s a little strong, but I would totally recommend it.  It was amber in color and tasted sweetly of honey and grapes.  Dogfish Head claims this story behind the beer’s production:  “This recipe is the actual oldest-known fermented beverage in the world! It is an ancient Turkish recipe using the original ingredients from the 2700 year old drinking vessels discovered in the tomb of King Midas. Somewhere between wine & mead; this smooth, sweet, yet dry ale will please the Chardonnay of beer drinker alike.”  I guess I’ll take their word on the history, but I certainly can second their praise for the beer.  Another win for Dogfish Head.  And thus, another win for this contented beer drinker!

I’ve got lots more to say, so I’ll be posting again soon.  Plus, for anyone who wants to keep an eye on upcoming recipes (or anyone who doesn’t want to have to check compulsively but can’t get by without their foodie fix…or maybe just for mom 😉 ) I added a “subscribe” button.  Pretty nifty, huh?  Anyway…

Coming soon (meaning: as soon as I finish this paper for my grammar class!):
Gaining Five Pounds on Vacation
Two Friends, Two Small Black Dogs, and Lots of Good Food

6 responses

  1. As you know, I’m not a beer lover, but I’m an almost “want-to-be” with all your wonderful descriptive notes attached to each flavor present in your brew. Ahhhh, someday I just might surprise you.
    thanks for the “sign me up” button, I’m on the list! =)

  2. WTF! Since when can you buy beer in PA grocery stores and why doesn’t anyone else in PA know this? I spent the 4th in Phili and had to search all over to find an open beer distributor to get beer, when apparently I COULD HAVE JUST GONE TO THE GROCERY STORE!!!

    • I know! It just snuck up on us somehow–but it’s awesome. I don’t know how widespread it is, though. It’s still in very few stores out here. I looked it up–apparently the grocery store needs to have at least 400 feet of space for eat-in prepared foods, or something like that.

      Just another reason to come down to Pittsburgh! We miss you–and we have easily accessible beer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

