Adventures in Hostessing

Dinner Party 2010: Success!

I had a few work-friends over for dinner last night, and while it was a ton of work to get ready for, I think it was a glowing success!  Chris and I tidied, organized, hung pictures, arranged decorations, vacuumed, swiffered, and everything else we could think of to get the house in the best shape possible so I could show it off for the first time to non-family members.  (The basement came in handy. I will confess, after I had had enough of organizing, I still ended up with about three boxes that got relegated to the basement for the time being.  At some point, there were just more important things to deal with.)

From a foodie standpoint, though, it was wonderful. I wish I had pictures of all the food! I had some help, and I tried some new dishes and some classic standbys.  Here’s the annotated menu:

Appetizers:

Alicia’s roasted pepper and cream cheese dip with pita chips (A great way to start off our meal. The sweetness of the pepper, the smooth texture of the cheese, and the crispness of the chips were a really nice combination.)

Susan’s prosciutto stuffed mushrooms (A new recipe that turned out to be really tasty!  I had never attempted stuffed mushrooms, figuring they would be far too complicated, but they were really quite manageable.)

Main Course:

Katie’s salad with avocado, artichoke hearts, hearts of palm, tomato, cucumber, and sharp cheese cubes (Refreshing and something I never would have thought of. Loved it.)

Susan’s raspberry chicken (I made this for my last dinner party 2 years ago. It’s so simple, but tasty, and it allows me to spend more time with my guests and less time in the kitchen.  Chris and I made a special trip up to Penzey’s in the morning just to get the raspberry sauce.)

Susan’s wild rice with fresh herbs (including basil from my garden!)

Susan’s green bean salad with tomatoes and feta, tossed with a balsamic-and-herb vinagrette (A new Penzey’s recipe. So good–I substituted balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar.  Everyone commented on the green beans; I would say it was the unexpected star of the party.)

Dessert:

Dana’s strawberry trifle (Anything with strawberries is okay by me [see previous post re: 11 pounds of berries…].  Plus, this trifle had a hint of citrus in the custard in between the layers.)

Wines:

“The Seeker” Sauvignon Blanc (Good, although perhaps not the best at holding up to the flavors in dinner.  It didn’t compete, which is good, I suppose, but it might have been better on its own or with appetizers.)

“Irony” Chardonnay (I’ll admit, I bought this solely for the name.  You can’t go wrong with wines names after literary devices! I don’t know much about wine, but I was pleasantly surprised by the lightness of this wine. It was refreshing and eminently drinkable.)

I love having foodie friends, and I can’t wait to do this again!

2 responses

  1. It all sounds wonderful. How great that everyone participated with favorite dishes of their own to share with foodie friends. Ah, life is good!
    signing off as “green with envy”,
    love
    mom =)

Leave a Reply

