Salmon Salad Suggestions

Another successful dinner from the Church Brew Works.  Chris and I intended on going elsewhere, but as it was too busy, we settled on Church Brew Works–we hadn’t been there in a while, and the beer there is always decent, the setting neat, and the food tasty.  This time was no different.  We had some interesting beer selections as well–we each tried a French-style brew that had notes of raisin or plum in it, which was definitely something new.  Chris then got the hefeweisen and I got the quadruple, which were both fine selections.  Our appetizer was their untraditional pierogies.  (I love that they have a pierogie special each night!)  That night was a chorizo, chicken, and mashed potato pierogie–the flavors were good, though I wasn’t sure about how well the textures melted together.  I would have liked a smoother filling, I think.  Chris’s main dish of pork chop was apparently quite good, but it’s my salad I’m writing home about.

I’m actually blogging it not because it was crazy-fancy or complicated.  Quite the opposite, actually. I could totally do that!  But the flavor combination was really nice.  I had a watercress and mixed green salad, tossed with dried cranberries and pistachios, cranberry vinaigrette dressing, and topped with grilled salmon and fried sweet potato curls.  Everything worked really well together, even if I don’t know that I would have thought to add pistachios to a salad.  Also, I’m finding I really like the salmon-salad combination.  There’s just something nice and fresh about a plate full of greens and some salmon, simply but tastefully prepared, to go along with it.  I’m going to have to try to recreate this dish sometime, and I’ll have to keep you posted on how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

