A recipe from Mom and a tip from Alton

I’ve been meaning to put something in here, but the truth is, while I have fun new contraptions for my kitchen, I haven’t had the time to do a whole lot of experimental cooking or try out new restaurants. I’m feeling in a rut, though, so next time Chris and I go out, I think I’m going to push for something different.

We did try a new place about a week or two ago. Nothing exotic, but really good. It’s this, well, I guess it’s like a barbeque place, called “Red, Hot, and Blues” down at the Waterfront. It was really, really good. They have a blues theme, and they have barbeques, ribs, fried things…things I tend to think of as Southern. Maybe I’m wrong. But I had fried shimp and fish, and it came with the most amazing hush puppies. I would go back there just for the hush puppies.

While we were waiting to be seated, Chris and I went to the bar and each ordered a beer. I had a Barefisted Stout, or something like that, and it was quite good–I hadn’t had a good stout in a while, believe it or not. And so the guy sitting next to me asks what I’m drinking, and then proceeds to offer to buy a drink for me…AND CHRIS. And he was about 60. And with his wife. He was weird. Needless to say, we were both sufficiently creeped out and glad that we had already paid our bill and could go find our table.

On a more foodie note, I’ve had fun playing with my new toys from the holidays: a programmable coffee maker, which is about the most amazing device invented by man; a “griddler,” or combination panini press, George Foreman-esque grill, and griddle; and a waffle maker. I haven’t broken out the blender yet…that may wait till warmer times for yummy slushies.

I have also become hopelessly addicted to Alton. I think I’m obsessed. I watch Good Eats every day. I watched all 4 hours of Feasting on Asphalt last night and then felt horrible for Alton for the entire last 45 minutes after he broke his clavicle. (Poor guy! He couldn’t even hold his own hamburger!) I even found myself using “thusly” in class on Friday. It’s bad. I did, however, get a good tip that I put into practice today.

Tip: When making muffins, scoop out the batter using an ice cream scoop. I have one with the little metal bar that scoops out the stuff inside when you squeeze it.) It helps keep the batter neat and provides for more accurate, more uniform portions into each muffin cups. I heart multitaskers.

I’ll end for today with a recipe that Mom just posted. I’m such a copycat. But it’s what I had for dinner today, and it just hit the proverbial spot. I feel as though one should turn one’s nose up at the sound of “tuna casserole,” but it’s actually quite good and homey and perfect for a snowy, cold, work-ish sort of day like today has been.

Tuna Casserole

1/2 lb box of macaroni
1 small pkg. or small can of tuna in water, drained
1 can of cream of mushroom soup + 1 can milk
1/2 small pkg of frozen peas
1 pkg of Ritz crackers (any crackers would do), crushed into fine pieces

Boil macaroni slightly under al dante stage.
After the macaroni is finished cooking in the pot, drain it. In the same pot, mix the macaroni with the soup and milk, then add the tuna (separate with fork), then add the frozen peas.
Pour into greased casserole dish. Top casserole with the crushed cracker crumbs.
Bake at 350 for about 25-30 mins. or until edges start to bubble.
Makes 2 – 3 servings.

And until next time, I bid you good eating. 😉

3 responses

  1. Glad to see you posting again!
    I’m making a creamy chicken thing to put over pasta, which also uses cream of mushroom soup (the reduced fat kind). But your sounds much better. 😉
    Smaller ice cream scoops are also excellent for portioning drop cookie dough (i.e. chocolate chip cookies). They come out looking professional every time, and cook evenly. I use it for muffins too, but if it’s a really runny batter, it slops around and gets on your hands more than into the muffin tin.

  2. If it makes you feel any better, I use “thusly” alot…in my writing and logical progression of proof writing. So don’t feel so bad.
    Oh and seeing as this is food related, I feel the need to leave a little tid-bit or two. Since I like using as few things as possible-
    can of tuna and a box of Kraft Mac and Cheese (or whatever happens to be your favorite). My absurdly simple, no brains required version. Just mix. yeah it may seem a little odd but it tastes yummy (sometimes you need a pinch of salt).
    I’ve never made lasagna before, but I am going to make an attempt at it. Let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

