Two recipes I’ve been meaning to post…

I’ve been meaning to post these two recipes for some time now. They’re wonderful. One is fun movie-food, and Chris and I love to make it for a nice night in. Alton’s popcorn recipe and a good beer–life is good. The other is a meatloaf recipe that I enjoyed. I do enjoy a good meatloaf, and this one fit the bill. (I know meatloaf gets a bad rap, but really, this one is tasty!)

Our “I Love Alton” Popcorn

3 tbsp peanut oil
about 1/2 c popcorn kernels
1/2 tsp popcorn salt (we double this)
3 tbsp unsalted butter (we don’t even use this…we don’t need it!)

Place the oil, popcorn, and salt in a large, 6-quart, metal mixing bowl. (We only have a 3-quart so we halve the recipe.) Cover with heavy-duty aluminum foil and poke slits in top with a knife or a fork.
Place bowl over medium heat and shake constantly using a pair of tongs to hold the bowl. Continue shaking until the popcorn finished popping, about 3 minutes.
Remove the bowl from the heat and carefully remove foil. Stir in any salt that is on the sides of the bowl. Remove immediately to another dish, or else the popcorn burns.
Melt butter, if desired, in microwave. Slowly drizzle over popcorn while spinning the bowl.

Barbeque Meat Loaf

1 1/2 lb ground beef
1/2 c dry breadcrumbs
1/2 c chopped onion
1/3 c barbeque sauce, divided (I used about double this amount to keep it moist)
1 tbsp mustard
1 1/2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
2 large egg whites
cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350.
Combin beef, breadcrumbs, and onion, 1 tbsp barbeque sauce (I used about 3), and remaining ingredients except cooking spray in a large bowl.
Shape meat mixture into a 9×5-inch loaf on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray. Spread remaining barbeque sauce over meatloaf. Bake at 350 for 1 hour or until a thermometer registers 160. Let stand 10 minutes.

7 responses

  1. ‘ gotta love that Alton!
    ‘ saw the popcorn show, loved it. The popcorn sounds delicious. I think I can even smell it cooking, and hear it popping! I’ll have to try it the Alton way.
    Thanks for sharing. Enjoy!!!
    Your meatloaf sounds yummy. One question though, who shaped the meatloaf mixture? =)
    You’ve developed into quite a professional “foodie”, Suzie. =)

    • Re: ‘ gotta love that Alton!
      Who do you think made the meatloaf? Chris got home just in time to save me, and I bartered jobs–I did the dishes for the night and he stuck his hands in the raw meat. Do give the meatloaf a try, though. It was really tasty!
      And you’ll have to try the popcorn. I know dad likes popcorn, and we used to make it in the little stovetop thing…this is also good and he might really enjoy it! =)

  2. I too would like to know who shapes the meatloaf. If we were back at the townhouse, I’d probably get called in to do the dirty work. Anyways it sounds yummy and delicious- much more appetizing than my chicken and rice-a-roni throw together this evening. Oh, that reminds me, I’ll have to send you my no-baking-baked-potato-stole-it-and-modified-it-from-laurie-soup recipe.

    • *lol* Who do you think, hon? Considering that when I tried to make stir fry at the townhouse I was left whimpering when I touched the raw meat…I’ve gotten better, but not good enough to dig in. Ugh!!
      Yes, please send your recipe. It sounds wonderful, and I love potato soups. Mmmm, really-long-soup-recipes. 😉

  3. Kettle Corn
    Kettle Corn
    (makes about 5 cups)
    1/2 cup corn kernals
    1/4 cup minus 1 Tablespoon canola or vegetable oil
    1 Tablespoon butter
    1/3 cup granulated sugar
    Salt
    Mix kernals, oil and butter in a heavy bottomed soup pot and heat over a medium high heat. Stir in butter as it melts. When fat starts bubbling, mix in sugar. Place a lid over, and put on oven mitts. As soon as the popcorn starts popping, every 15-30 seconds, pull it off the flame and shake vigorously. As soon as popping slows, dump corn into a large bowl or cookie sheet. Sprinkle lightly with salt, and toss so it doesn’t stick together.
    Enjoy! A bit messy in the pot, but SO ADDICTIVE!

Leave a Reply

