Cookie Time!

I haven’t posted much lately because I’ve been so busy, there hasn’t been much experimenting with food. No time for elaborate cooking. That’s not to say that I have time now for it, but I’m in charge of refreshments for choir this week, so I decided to make cookies. Not just any cookies, I vowed, but yummy new cookies! Fall-type cookies!
And I made them. And they are wonderful. I highly recommend this recipe. It’s really easy. I doubled the recipe to make enough for me to keep. Even though they looked like they were spreading and flat when they were wet, they puffed up a lot in the oven and were light and fluffy–just wonderful!

Pumpkin and Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 c cooked pumpkin (I used the canned stuff)
1 c sugar
1/2 oil
1 egg
2 c flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda dissolved in 1 tsp milk
1 c chocolate pieces
1/2 c chopped nuts (optional)
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 375. Lightly grease cookie sheets.
In large bowl, combine pumpkin, sugar, oil, and egg. In medium bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Add to pumpkin mixture, along with dissolved baking soda. Mix well. (I used and electric mixer.) Stir in chocolate chips, nuts, and vanilla. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto cookie sheets. Bake in oven for 12 minutes, or until just started to brown on top.

I’m gonna go eat some more cookies now. 😉

5 responses

  1. Don’t you just love autumn and all it brings with it? ….especially yummy smells that filter through the house and make you want to explore their beginnings….and their endings, in your tummy! =)

Leave a Reply

