I heart my Crock Pot.

As the title suggests, this is really only going to help you if you have a crock pot. But if you do, this is great. I was inspired by Resa’s post with a pork barbeque to see if I could find an easy one that I could make. Ta-da! It looked a little dry to me, so I added some water–but then it came out a little watery. If you’re trying it, resist the urge to add too much liquid! =)

3 lb pork, cubed
2 c chopped onions (I left this out)
3 green pepers, chopped (this, too–veggies get too soggy for me)
1/2 c brown sugar
1/4 c vinegar
6 oz. can tomato paste
1 1/2 tbsp chili powder
1 tsp dry mustard
2 tsp Worchestershire sauce
2 tsp salt

Put pork in slow cooker. Mix sauce ingredients together in small bowl; pour over pork.
Cover. Cook on high 8 hours.
Shred meat with fork. Mix into sauce or drizzle sauce over top. Serve on hamburger buns. (Would also be tasty on its own!)

8 responses

  1. Oooooo!!!! crock pot recipe. I may have to try that. I’m surprised that it would still be watery after 8 hours on high. Especially considering you really only have the vinegar and the tomato pasta, and tiny bit of the W. sauce.
    I hope things are going well with the curriculum/lesson planning.
    Resa

    • I know! That’s why I was pretty leery of letting it go with so little moisture. But I guess it works. *After* I added some water and swirled it around, I saw a little note on the bottom of the page saying it was a common mistake to “add too much water” and I thought…oops. *lol*
      Thanks! Things are going as well as possiblle–meaning I have tomorrow mapped out and not much beyond that. =P This is going to be a fun year. And by fun I mean hectic, crazy, and uber-stressful.

Leave a Reply

