Zucchini Bread

I wasn’t going to be quite this specific with things, but Resa told me that I had better post recipes on here, because I’ve stolen all her good ones and it’s only fair that I share. So I thought I would open with my mom’s recipe for zucchini bread, which is simply wonderful, especially this time of year. I try to make it every year. Of course, I don’t have a shredder, but I discovered this year that I could cut my zucchini into logs that were about 2-3 inches long, then cut them length-wise about four times, then take a vegetable peeler to them. This keeps the size of the peels from getting too big, and eliminates the need for a shredder…though I’m sure if you have one, it would go a lot quicker! =P

This recipe makes two loaves. Freezes very well.
Preheat oven to 350. Grease two 9 x 5 loaf pans.

3 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3 tsp cinnamon
3 eggs
1 3/4 c sugar
1 c vegetable oil
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 c lightly packed zucchini
1 c raisins (optional)
1 c nuts, chopped (optional)

Sift dry ingredients (except sugar) together in a medium bowl. Beat the eggs with the sugar, oil, and vanilla in a large bowl. Gradually beat in the dry mixture. Stir in the zucchini, adding raisins and nuts if desired. Divide between two greased loaf pans and bake in 350 degree oven for 50-60 min or until brown and a toothpick in the middle comes out clean.

5 responses

  1. Well, I mean you don’t have to post recipes, but if you are going to post about your yummy food…I’ll probably want to try to make it myself. And I swear, if I come across something good…like my chicken and mushrooms recipe I’ll post it. I don’t think you have that…or the pulled pork recipe *which is a monster but you get to make some yummy homemade bbq sauce*.
    Oh good substitute…if you want to bread chicken or turkey or pork or something…and you are all out of breadcrumbs, try taking a whole bunch of ritz crackers and smashing them up real good. It is very tasty alternative.
    Okay, I’ll post them real soon.
    Love, love- resa

    • Oooh, thanks for the cracker tip! And please do post about the chicken and mushrooms and the pulled pork. They both sound wonderful. I’m excited. Resa recipes promise to be good!! =9 (That’s me licking my lips.)
      And I don’t mean to sound grudging about the recipes. I’m happy to post them for you–I just hadn’t thought of it before. But this is happy! =)

  2. Ok, so i’m not as good at cooking as you are, but i sure as hell can bake up a storm! one of my ex0coworkers gave me the recipie for taco pie. sean swears he could eat the stuff everyday. its real easy, and if i can do it, anyone can! so, here it is…
    TACO PIE!!!
    need:
    pie dish
    1lb ground meat (i use sirloin)
    1 packet taco seasoning
    1 can crescent rolls
    cheese (i use kraft mexican shredded)
    other taco toppings of your choice (tortilla chips, tomatoes, salsa, sour cream, shredded lettuce, etc)
    ok. pre-heat oven to cresant can recipie.
    cook meat according to seasoning packet.
    spread cresants out in pie dish, tearing and patching where needed (don;t be afraid to push down on them)
    put cooked and seasoned meat in dish. sprinkle with cheese. Bake according to cresant can. remove, let cool for a few minutes. cut into pie slices and serve, adding any additional taco pie toppings of your choice. I liked this cause it allowed me not to have to scrape off all the things i don;t like on tacos (ie: anything except cheese and lettuce). You can cover and re-heat the leftovers. Yummy!

    • That sounds really tasty. Thanks for sharing! I’m actually really glad you posted this–my friend was talking about something similar the other day but couldn’t tell me exactly what went into it or how to make it, so I’ll have to give this one a try. Sounds happy too because I like tacos but they’re so messy I always end up eating them with a fork anyway–I don’t like the crispy shells and the soft ones just split. So yay! Thanks!! =)

Leave a Reply

