September’s New Recipe: Basil, Chicken, and Vegetable Curry

I’m already failing on one of my new (school) year’s resolutions. Finding recipes quick enough for weeknights is more of a challenge than I thought, due in part to the fact that this is a really busy time of year for my job and part to the fact that Little Miss is getting really tired out by her days in her new classroom at school. She comes home hungry and tired and ready for dinner, a bit of playing, and bed, and there’s not a lot of time for cooking in there. But I’ll figure it out–it just might take a bit.

As for my other resolution, though, I can check that off the list with great success. My new recipe for September was Basil, Chicken, and Vegetables in a Coconut-Curry Sauce. It was delicious, came together relatively quickly, and reheated well–an all-around win in my book!

There’s a bit of prep work, with cutting the pepper, snapping the beans, and slicing the chicken, but the whole recipe can be made in about the time it takes to make a pot of rice. And it is delicious. The sauce is smooth, rich, and flavorful. We’ve found on dishes like this in the past that it can be a little alarming to use whole-fat coconut milk–it’s best not to read the nutrition info on the back on the can.  However, we’ve also found that it is just not worth it to use the low-fat stuff, either.  The sacrifice you make in flavor and in texture…well, we figure, if we’re going to do it, we’re going to go all in and do it right.  Chris said this curry could have used a bit more heat (I omitted the Sriracha entirely); I didn’t miss it. I enjoyed mine with the cashews, thinking it added a really nice extra element to the dish; Chris preferred his without.  But we agreed that this is definitely a recipe we’ll make again!

(Sorry there’s no pictures. We were too busy eating to take any good ones!)

Leave a comment